Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/08/21

Wilco’s Mikael Jorgensen to Release New Album in September

Wilco keyboardist Mikael Jorgensen will release his new album Mikael Jorgensen & Greg O’Keefe September 24 on Butterscotch Records. Jorgensen spearheaded production of the album along with the help of producer/engineer and Butterscotch label head Allen Farmelo (The Cinematic Orchestra, Talk Normal). You can stream the track “The Return of Luther Jones” here.

Jorgensen and O’Keefe started working on music that would eventually become their first album together in 2008, released under the band name Pronto. After that album Jorgensen felt the pair still had music to make together. Working around Jorgensen’s Wilco touring schedule, he and O’Keefe recorded a new batch of songs in 2010 with Aaron Nevezie and John Davis at Brooklyn’s Bunker Studios. Listening back to the tracks, Jorgensen found them “impressive and the songs satisfying, but a creative restlessness was stirring in Jorgensen and he knew the record was going to change.” “I realized that this wasn’t a problem as much as it was an opportunity to completely reevaluate what I had started,” he said in a statement.

Jorgensen found more inspiration as he fired up his impressive collection of analog synthesizers. He began to augment the live studio tracks with synth overdubs, and then he began to replace guitars, bass and eventually vocals with synths of all kinds. It wasn’t long before he said, “To hell with it, I’m going to replace every sound on this song with a synthesizer except the drums.” By the time he was done, all the songs had been transformed from guitar-based rockinto a captivating electronic album.

Show 1 Comments