Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/11/14

Legacy Records to Release Uncle Tupelo’s No Depression: Legacy Edition

On January 28, Legacy Records will release No Depression: Legacy Edition, a two-disc volume that includes Uncle Tupelo’s 1990 album No Depression, as well as number of previously unreleased demos, live tracks and rarities. In addition, the label will also release a 7” vinyl that features Uncle Tupelo’s cover of The Stooges’ “I Wanna Be Your Dog” on the A side and a rendition of Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Commotion” on the B side for Record Store Day’s Black Friday event on November 29.

Uncle Tupelo was formed in 1987 by Jay Farrar, Jeff Tweedy and Mike Heidorn. The group helped define the genre of alternative country from 1987-1994. Following their break up, Fararr and Heidorn went on to form Son Volt, while the remaining members of the band—Tweedy, Jom Stirratt, Ken Commer and Max Johnston—became Wilco.

No Depression: Legacy Edition tracklist:

Disc One

No Depression (Original Album)

1. Graveyard Shift 2. That Year 3. Before I Break 4. No Depression 5. Factory Belt 6. Whiskey Bottle 7. Outdone 8. Train 9. Life Worth Livin’ 10. Flatness 11. So Called Friend 12. Screen Door 13. John Hardy
No Depression Era Odds & Ends

14. Left In The Dark 15. Won’t Forget 16. I Got Drunk 17. Sin City 18. Whiskey Bottle (Live Acoustic)
Disc Two
Not Forever, Just For Now (No Depression Demos, Produced By Matt Allison, 1989)

1. Outdone 2. That Year 3. Whiskey Bottle 4. Flatness 5. I Got Drunk 6. Before I Break 7. Life Worth Livin’ 8. Train 9. Graveyard Shift 10. Screen Door
From Live & Otherwise (Self-Released Cassette, 1988)

11. No Depression 12. Blues Die Hard
From Colorblind and Rhymeless (1987 Cassette Demo)

13. Before I Break 14. I Got Drunk 15. Screen Door 16. Blues Die Hard 17. Pickle River

Show 0 Comments