Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/11/29

Capitol Theatre Hosts The Complete Last Waltz

For the second year in a row, a number of musicians from the Americana, jam and indie worlds came together to celebrate The Band’s historic 1976 Thanksgiving farewell concert. Billed as the The Complete Last Waltz, this year the mini-fest moved from San Francisco to Port Chester, NY’s Capitol Theatre and featured a house band that consisted of Joe Russo, Scott Metzger, Marco Benevento and Yellowbirds/Apollo Sunshine guitarist Sam Cohen, among many others. A hand-picked selection of featured vocalists and soloists shuffled on and off the stage throughout the show, including Cass McCombs, Wilco’s Nels Cline, Guster’s Ryan Miller, Delta Spirit’s Matt Vazquez, Nicole Atkins, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah’s Alex Ounsworth, Warren Haynes Band’s Alecia Chakour, Fruit Bats’ Eric Johnson, Dap-Kings’ Binky Griptite and Vetiver’s Andy Cabic, among others.

Performances of notes string section that accompanied the group on “Georgia,” comprised of the three Parkington Sisters plus Jason Crosby, as well as “Genetic Method” which featured a synth ensemble comprised of Benevento, Furthur’s Jeff Chimenti and Minerva Lions’ Jared Samuel.

In an off turn of events, the all-star sing-along based around “I Shall Be Released” actually included two partial reunions of long-dormant bands: Surprise performer RANA drummer Ryan Thornton joined his former band mates Matt Trowbridge and Metzger on stage together, while 2/3rds of Apollo Sunshine reunied when drummer Jeremy Black emerged alongside Cohen.

The show closed with The Band classic “Don’t Do It” and featured a duet between Warren Haynes Band vocalist Alecia Chakour and Metzger.

Here’s a look at the full setlist with vocalists noted:

Last Waltz Theme
Up On Cripple Creek (Sam Cohen)
The Shape I’m In (Kenny Siegal)
Life Is A Carnival (Ryan Miller)
W.S. Walcott Medicine Show (Alex Ounsworth)
Georgia On My Mind (Alecia Chakour)
Ophelia (Scott Metzger)
Rag Mama Rag (Marc Black)
King Harvest (Marc Black/Ryan Miller)
Mystery Train (Matt Vazquez)
Who Do You Love (Matt Vazquez)
The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Cass McCombs)
Stage Fright (Cass McCombs)
It Makes No Difference (Cass McCombs)
Such a Night (Marco Benevento)
Down South in New Orleans (Andy Cabic)
This Wheel’s On Fire (Andy Cabic)
All Our Past Times (Nels Cline/Sam Cohen)
Further On Up the Road (Nels Cline)
Helpless (Nicole Atkins)
Four Strong Winds (Nicole Atkins)
Coyote (Jocie Adams)
Furry Sings the Blues (Jocie Adams/Nels Cline on guitar)
Dry Your Eyes (John Roderick)
Mannish Boy (Binky Griptite)
Caledonia (Binky Griptite)
Tura Lura Lura (Eric Johnson)
Caravan (Eric Johnson)
The Genetic Method (Synth Ensemble)
Chest Fever (Kenny Siegal)
Evangeline (Parkington Sisters)
Acadian Driftwood (Parkington Sisters)
The Weight (Alecia Chakour, Sam Cohen, Eric Johnson, Aylward)
Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Eric Earley)
Hazel (Eric Earley)
I Don’t Believe You (Eric Earley)
Forever Young (Eric Earley)
Baby Let Me Follow You Down Reprise (Eric Earley)
I Shall Be Released (Ensemble)
Don’t Do It (Alecia Chakour/Scott Metzger)

Show 7 Comments