Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/12/05

Four Disc Otis Redding, & Aretha Franklin Box Sets To Be Released

Legendary vocalists Otis Redding & Aretha Franklin will both release four disc box sets appropriately titled The King of Soul and The Queen of Soul on February 4 via Rhino Records.

Redding’s The King of Soul will include 92 songs from the through the singer’s career, with special live recordings of “These Arms of Mine” and “Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag” from Los Angeles’ iconic Whiskey A Go Go in 1966. The Queen of Soul will feature 87 songs, including a fantastic recording of Franklin performing The Band’s “The Weight” with legendary Allman Brothers Band guitarist Duane Allman.

The King of Soul tracklist:

Disc One
1.    “These Arms Of Mine”
2.    “Hey Hey Baby”
3.    “That’s What My Heart Needs”
4.    “Mary’s Little Lamb”
5.    “Pain In My Heart”
6.    “Something Is Worrying Me”
7.    “Come To Me”
8.    “Don’t Leave Me This Way”
9.    “Security”
10.    “Chained And Bound”
11.    “Your One And Only Man”
12.    “That’s How Strong My Love Is”
13.    “Mr. Pitiful”
14.    “A Woman, A Lover, A Friend”
15.    “Nothing Can Change This Love”
16.    “It’s Too Late”
17.    “For Your Precious Love”
18.    “Home In Your Heart”
19.    “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” (Mono Version)
20.    “I’m Depending On You”
21.    “Respect” (Mono Version)
22.    “Ole Man Trouble” (Mono Version)
23.    “Change Gonna Come”

Disc Two
1.    “Shake”
2.    “Satisfaction”
3.    “Down In The Valley”
4.    “My Girl”
5.    “Rock Me Baby”
6.    “You Don’t Miss Your Water”
7.    “I Can’t Turn You Loose”
8.    “Just One More Day”
9.    “Any Ole Way”
10.    “It’s Growing”
11.    “Cigarettes And Coffee”
12.    “Chain Gang”
13.    “Nobody Knows You (When You’re Down And Out)”
14.    “Good To Me”
15.    “Everybody Makes A Mistake”
16.    “Just One More Day” (Live, 1966)
17.    “Mr. Pitiful” (Live, 1966)
18.    “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” (Live, 1966)
19.    “These Arms Of Mine” (Live, 1966)
20.    “Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag” (Live, 1966)
21.    “Don’t Mess With Cupid”
22.    “My Lover’s Prayer”
Disc Three
1.    “Try A Little Tenderness”
2.    “Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)”
3.    “I’m Sick Y’all”
4.    “Tennessee Waltz”
5.    “Sweet Lorene”
6.    “Day Tripper”
7.    “You’re Still My Baby”
8.    “Hawg For You” (Mono Version)
9.    “I Love You More Than Words Can Say”
10.    “Let Me Come On Home”
11.    “Open The Door”
12.    “Tramp”
13.    “Knock On Wood”
14.    “Let Me Be Good To You”
15.    “Lovey Dovey”
16.    “New Year’s Resolution”
17.    “Ooh Carla, Ooh Otis”
18.    “White Christmas”
19.    “Merry Christmas Baby”
20.    “The Glory Of Love”
21.    “The Huckle-Buck”
22.    “Tell The Truth”

Disc Four
1.    “Respect’ (Live, 1967)
2.    “Can’t Turn You Loose” (Live, 1967)
3.    “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long” (Live, 1967)
4.    “My Girl” (Live, 1967)
5.    “Shake“  (Live, 1967) (Stereo Mix Of Single Version)
6.    “Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)” (Live, 1967)
7.    “Try A Little Tenderness” (Live, 1967)
8.    “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember”
9.    “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
10.    “Hard To Handle”
11.    “Thousand Miles Away”
12.    “The Happy Song (Dum-Dum)”
13.    “A Waste Of Time”
14.    “Champagne And Wine”
15.    “A Fool For You”
16.    “I’m A Changed Man”
17.    “Direct Me”
18.    “Love Man”
19.    “Look At The Girl”
20.    “Free Me”
21.    “The Match Game”
22.    “A Little Time”
23.    “Johnny’s Heartbreak”
24.    “Amen”
25.    “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”

The Queen of Soul tracklist:

Disc One
1.    “I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)”
2.    “Do Right Woman – Do Right Man”
3.    “Respect”
4.    “Drown In My Own Tears”
5.    “Soul Serenade”
6.    “Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream”
7.    “Baby, Baby, Baby”
8.    “Dr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business)”
9.    “Good Times”
10.    “Save Me”
11.    “Baby, I Love You”
12.    “Satisfaction”
13.    “You Are My Sunshine”
14.    “Never Let Me Go”
15.    “Prove It”
16.    “I Wonder”
17.    “Ain’t Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)”
18.    “It Was You” (Aretha Arrives Outtake)
19.    “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman”
20.    “Chain Of Fools”
21.    “People Get Ready”
22.    “Come Back Baby”
23.    “Good To Me As I Am To You”
24.    “Since You’ve Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)”
25.    “Ain’t No Way”

Disc Two
1.    “Think”
2.    “You Send Me”
3.    “I Say A Little Prayer”
4.    “The House That Jack Built”
5.    “You’re A Sweet Sweet Man”
6.    “I Take What I Want”
7.    “A Change”
8.    “See Saw”
9.    “My Song”
10.    “I Can’t See Myself Leaving You”
11.    “Night Life” (Live)
12.    “Ramblin’”
13.    “Today I Sing The Blues”
14.    “River’s Invitation”
15.    “Pitiful”
16.    “Talk To Me, Talk To Me” (Soul ’69 Outtake)
17.    “Tracks Of My Tears”
18.    “The Weight”
19.    “Share Your Love With Me”
20.    “Pledging My Love/The Clock”
21.    “It Ain’t Fair”
22.    “Sit Down And Cry”
23.    “Let It Be”
24.    “Eleanor Rigby”
25.    “Call Me”

Disc Three
1.    “Son Of A Preacher Man”
2.    “Try Matty’s”
3.    “The Thrill Is Gone” (From Yesterday’s Kisses)
4.    “Dark End Of The Street”
5.    “You And Me”
6.    “You’re Taking Up Another Man’s Place” (Spirit In The Dark Outtake)
7.    “Don’t Play That Song”
8.    “Why I Sing The Blues”
9.    “Spirit In The Dark”
10.    “My Way” (Spirit In The Dark Outtake)
11.    “One Way Ticket”
12.    “Pullin’”
13.    “Border Song (Holy Moses)”
14.    “A Brand New Me”
15.    “You’re All I Need To Get By”
16.    “Bridge Over Troubled Water”
17.    “Spanish Harlem”
18.    “Lean On Me”
19.    “Spirit In The Dark” (Reprise with Ray Charles)

Disc Four
1.    “Rock Steady”
2.    “Young, Gifted And Black”
3.    “All The King’s Horses”
4.    “Oh Me Oh My (I’m A Fool For You Baby)”
5.    “Day Dreaming”
6.    “Mary, Don’t You Weep” (Live)
7.    “Climbing Higher Mountains” (Live)
8.    “Precious Memories” (Live)
9.    “Master Of Eyes”
10.    “Angel”
11.    “Somewhere”
12.    “So Swell When You’re Well”
13.    “I’m In Love”
14.    “Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing”
15.    “Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)”
16.    “Look Into Your Heart”
17.    “Sparkle”
18.    “Something He Can Feel”

Show 0 Comments