Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/12/10

"Forgotten" Johnny Cash Recordings to Be Released

Columbia/Legacy has announced that an album of “forgotten” Johnny Cash recordings will be released on March 25 under the title Out Among the Stars. According to the label, these previously unreleased tracks are not demos or studio outtakes, but are in fact recordings—discovered by Cash’s son John Carter Cash—that the late icon most likely intended to release.

The recordings, which were produced by Billy Sherrill, were recorded at Nashville’s Columbia Studios in 1981 and 1111 Sound Studios in 1984. Among the 12 tracks, are duets with Waylon Jennings and Cash’s late wife June Carter Cash, and two of the songs are credited as being written by Johnny Cash.

Out Among the Stars tracklisting:

1. Out Among the Stars
2. Baby Ride Easy **
3. She Used to Love Me A Lot
4. After All
5. I’m Movin’ On ^
6. If I Told You Who It Was
7. Call Your Mother *
8. I Drove Her Out of Her Mind
9. Tennessee
10. Rock and Roll Shoes
11. Don’t You Think It’s Come Our Time **
12. I Came to Believe *

*Written by Johnny Cash **Featuring June Carter Cash
^Featuring Waylon Jennings

Show 3 Comments