Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2014/03/18

Umphrey’s McGee Confirm New Album Details

Umphrey’s McGee will release their new album Similar Skin on June 10. The band revealed the news today via a new website that lists the album’s title, release date and tracklist.

We spoke with keyboardist Joel Cummins about the forthcoming album a couple of months ago on Jam Cruise. As mentioned in that interview, many of the tracks on Similar Skin are songs that Umphrey’s McGee have been played live over the years, while a few tunes—the title track, “Little Gift,” “Educated Guess” and “Hindsight”—have not yet made it to the stage.

Similar Skin tracklist:

The Linear
Cut The Cable
No Diablo
Similar Skin
Puppet String
Little Gift
Educated Guess
Loose Ends


Umphrey’s McGee have revealed that Similar Skin will be released on their own newly launched record label, Nothing Too Fancy Music.


There are 4 comments associated with this post

Bridgeless March 18, 2014, 11:46:29

Pumped they put one of their oldest tunes on a new album. Looks like a real rough album to this UM fan besides these hopefully good 3 unplaced tunes. Who really wants studio versions of Puppet and Linear. Maybe they could toss Don’t You Forget About Me or Hot For Teacher on There and help the fans want to buy this seeming farse. Could this be worse than Mantis? Tough, but unless the three new songs are special we can file this one away with Mantis. Thanks guys!

Joe March 18, 2014, 12:06:01

Uhh Mantis was a great album. Maybe not their best, but definitely the most cohesive. A lot of my people I know got hooked on UM through that album. And as far as songs they’ve already been playing go, Puppet and Linear are leaps and bounds ahead of Hourglass and Loose Ends, you should be complaining about those getting studio treatment if anything. Tracklisting looks great to me.

Not a douche March 18, 2014, 12:15:00

Well that leaves an extra copy available for an umphreak who is not a jaded tool. Looking forward to owning this and HOF 2013 on wax!

Umphreakinout March 18, 2014, 13:05:41

No doubt that this is gunna be a great album. Who cares if there are older songs. They haven’t been put in a studio with precise mastered tracks. The boys know what they are doin. I’m ready!

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)