Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2016/12/20

Pearl Jam, Tupac, Joan Baez, Yes Among New Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees have been announced, and they include six artists in the performer category: Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur, Joan Baez, Yes, Electric Light Orchestra and Journey.

In addition, Nile Rodgers will be honored with the Award for Musical Excellence. His band Chic were nominated for this year’s class but were denied entry for the 11th time. Other 2017 nominees left out of the induction this time around include Kraftwerk, Jane’s Addiction, The Zombies, Janet Jackson, J. Geils Band, Steppenwolf, The Cars, Depeche Mode, Bad Brains, Chaka Khan, MC5 and Joe Tex. Acts are eligible for nomination 25 years after the release of their first recording. Fans helped out with this year’s inductee choices, with voters aiding in the inductions of Pearl Jam, Yes, ELO and Journey.

The induction ceremony for the honorees will take place on April 7 at Barclays Center, marking the third time the event has taken place at the Brooklyn venue. The ceremony will also be aired on HBO and SiriusXM at a later date. Ticketing information will be available in January.

Show 6 Comments