Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2017/06/14

Rostam Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares First Single

Claire Vogel

Widely known for his work with Vampire Weekend, Rostam Batmanglij will release his first full-length solo album this September under the abbreviated moniker Rostam. Entitled Half-Light, the record was exclusively written, produced, and performed by the multi-instrumentalist in his Los Angeles home studio.

In early 2016, Rostam explained his amicable departure from Vampire Weekend as a way to further develop his identity as a musician, songwriter and producer. Since then, he has kept busy, releasing a few solo singles and contributing to acclaimed albums like Frank Ocean’s Blonde and Solange’s A Seat at the Table. He also released a collaborative LP with The Walkmen’s Hamilton Leithauser, I Had a Dream That You Were Mine.

Half-Light will be available September 8 on Nonesuch Records. View the album art, tracklist and lyric video for the spacey first single, “Bike Dream,” below.

Half-Light Tracklist:

1. Sumer
2. Bike Dream
3. Half-Light ft Kelly Zutrau
4. Thatch Snow
5. Wood
6. Never Going To Catch Me
7. Don’t Let It Get To You
8. I Will See You Again
9. Hold You ft. Angel Deradoorian
10. When
11. Rudy
12. Warning Intruders
13. EOS
14. Gwan
15. Don’t Let It Get To You (Reprise)

Show 0 Comments