Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2017/08/06

Phish’s Baker’s Dozen: Inventive Boston Cream Mashup and Mega "Ghost"

Photo by Dean Budnick

The penultimate night of Phish’s Baker’s Dozen relied on a theme that Page McConnell originally mentioned as the inspiration for the run, a Boston Cream show full of covers from both Boston and Cream. Sure enough, the group wasted no time combining songs from those two classic rock bands into a one of a kind mashup.

After an opening selection of songs like “Soul Shakedown Party,” “Uncle Pen,” “The Sloth” and a smooth “Gotta Jibboo,” the quartet delivered a suggestive “Fuck Your Face” before diving into Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love” for the first time. The tune quickly turned into Boston’s “More Than a Feeling” before diving back into “Sunshine of Your Love.” The final aspect of the mashup included a bustout of Boston’s “Foreplay/Long Time” for the first time since July 12, 1999, also including quotes of Cream’s “White Room.”

The chaos of the Boston Cream mashup was slowed down with the following “Frost” before the set roared to a close with a frantic “Scent of a Mule,” a surprise cover of Jimi Hendrix’s “Fire” and a pair of Trey Anastasio Band tunes in “Alaska” and “Plasma,” featuring quotes from “Sunshine of Your Love.”

One of the last jam vehicles remaining for the group on their run, “Ghost,” kicked off the second set and didn’t disappoint with a 20-minute version that shifted from a full-band improvisation to Trey Anastasio taking control to a thrilling peak before the group settled into the Big Boat composition “Petrichor.”

Another cohesive jam, “Light,” followed before Anastasio called for the Gamehendge rarity “The Lizards” played to perfection. The show closed the a rapid fire run of “The Horse” and “Silent in the Morning” as well as a pair of covers—“Quinn the Eskimo” and “Rocky Top.” The band returned for a touching “Joy” show closer.

Phish wrap up their historic Baker’s Dozen run tonight with their final of thirteen shows.

Here’s a look at the setlist:

Madison Square Garden, New York, NY

Set I: Soul Shakedown Party, Uncle Pen, The Sloth, Gotta Jibboo, Fuck Your Face, Sunshine of Your Love > More Than a Feeling > Sunshine of Your Love > Foreplay/Long Time, Frost, Scent of a Mule, Fire, Alaska, Plasma

Set II: Ghost, Petrichor, Light > The Lizards, The Horse > Silent in the Morning > Quinn the Eskimo > Rocky Top

Enc: Joy

Show 2 Comments