Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue

Reviews > CDs

Published: 2012/02/07
by Ron Hart

Frost Frost

Bo’ Weavil Recordings

Frost Frost is the second LP from Roil, a trio of heavyweights from Australia’s improvised music movement that includes James Waples of the Mick Nock Trio, The Splinter Orchestra’s Mike Majkowski and Chris Abrahams of The Necks. Frost Frost, available as a limited edition of 500 copies on the good old dependable CD, is an excellent extension of their collective talent. Here, they spend the course of this seven track set furthering their intent to meld the worlds of free jazz, minimalism and ambient music in a way that has never been explored before, especially within the context of a piano trio on this challenging and rewarding record. Fans of Cecil Taylor, Terry Riley and Brian Eno alike should indeed take note.

Show 0 Comments