Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue

The Jammys

Published: 2002/10/05

2002 Jammys Presented by TDK: Overview of the Night

Here is a quick overview of the event, which took place on October 2 at Roseland Ballroom in New York City (with more to follow at the

The award winners:

TDK Live Performance of the Year: moe., Bonnaroo Music Festival, 6/23/02
Tour of the Year: Trey Anastasio, Summer 2002
Studio Album of the Year: Trey Anastasio, Trey Anastasio
Live Album of the Year: Widespread Panic’s Live in the Classic City
Archival Album: Phish, Live Phish 11: 11/17/97, McNichols Sports Arena, Denver, CO
Song of the Year: Gov’t Mule’s “Soulshine”
New Groove of the Year: Robert Randolph & The Family Band
Fan Website of the Year:
Lifetime Achievement Award: The Grateful Dead (presented by Senator Patrick Leahy, John Popper and essay contest winner Bill Stites)
Mimi Fishman Community Service Award: Panic Fans For Food
Grahamy Jammy (industry award for support of the scene): Annabel Lukins

Jammys Producer Dean Budnick, put together a photo gallery from shots he took amidst the chaos of the evening. More galleries will follow…

Show reviews
We have two reviews up on the site, by Dan Alford and Dan Greenhaus.

Here is News Editor’s Jeff Waful’s outline of the night which ran the day following the show:

As is the tradition of the Jammys, last night’s show offered up many interesting collaborations. RatDog bassist Rob Wasserman and DJ Logic kicked off the night. Next was Rusted Root, DJ Logic and guitarist Melvin Sparks, who played "Send Me on My Way" and "Ecstasy," with host John Popper adding harmonica. John Scofield was joined by saxophonist Skerik, drummer Stanton Moore and bassist Andy Hess. Pedal Steel guitarist Robert Randolph sat in with the Blind Boys of Alabama for "Amazing Grace." Unannounced guest John Mayer collaborated with Randolph and Derek Trucks. Particle and Fred Schneider and Kate Pierson of the B-52’s played "Planet Claire," "Private Idaho" and "Love Shack." Original Blue Oyster Cult members Eric Bloom (vocals), Buck Dharma (guitar) and Allen Lanier (guitar, keyboards) took the stage as moe. was finishing "Rebubula" and segued into "Don’t Fear the Reaper." Reid Genauer, Jessica Lurie and Hope Clayburn joined house band The Tom Tom Club for "Take Me to the River." Bassist Stefan Lessard (Dave Matthews Band) played "Beautifully Broken" with Gov’t Mule, before the Allman Brothers Band took the stage for "Desdemona." Trey Anastasio and John Scofield then performed on “Sco-Mule.” ABB guitarist Derek Trucks returned and Trey remained for “Soulshine.”

RatDog's set, whcih opened with "Sugar Magnolia" was capped by the monster dual stage jam, which closed out the show- an uplifting, marathon version of "Lovelight," with countless musicians collaborating on both stages at Roseland Ballroom in New York City. RatDog was joined on the main stage by guitarist Trey Anastasio (Phish), Warren Haynes (Govt’ Mule, Allman Brothers Band), Al Schnier (moe.), harmonica player John Popper (Blues Traveler), drummer Matt Abts (Govt’ Mule) and DJ Logic. Meanwhile, the second stage was inhabited by bassist Mike Gordon (Phish), guitarist Fuzz (Deep Banana Blackout), steel pedal guitarist Robert Randolph, saxophonists Skerik (Critters Buggin’, Les Claypool’s Frog Brigade), Hope Clayburn (Deep Banana Blackout), Jessica Lurie (Living Daylights), Tom Tom Club vocalists Mystic Bowie and Victoria Clamp and "Flute Girl." A lengthy jam ensued between both stages, with musicians egging each other on from across the room (there was also a brief segue in and out of "Gloria").

Show 0 Comments