Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2001/06/29

Jammys Award Winners

Phish won two Jammy awards last night at Roseland Ballroom in New York City.
The band’s most recent release, Farmhouse, was named Studio Album of the
Year. ‘I think I can speak on behalf of Mike, Page and Fish when I say how
honored we are to receive this award,’ Phish guitarist Trey Anastasio said in
a statement. ‘In my mind, an album is a snapshot of a period of time in a
band’s life. Farmhouse was recorded during a very exciting and turbulent
period for us. There was so much emotion in the making of Farmhouse, and out
New Year’s show at Big Cypress fell right in the middle of itIt felt
cathartic and it means so much to hear that people reacted to the album. We
feel very much a part of this amazing scene that has been growing for years.
This award ceremony shows how far this musical movement has come. We feel
lucky and proud to be a part of it.’
Phish’s concert from 7-11-00 (Nobleville, IN) was the fans’ choice for Live
Performance of the Year. Bassist Mike Gordon expressed the band’s gratitude
in a written statement: ‘I have no idea why this show would be voted for
live performance of the year, but I can say that Deer Creek has always been
one of our favorite venues, and based on my usual pre-show golf-cart cruise,
the relaxed vibe in the parking lot always seems a notch above the restWe
feel lucky to be able to play improvised music for such a fantastic audience.’
Noted rock scribe Anthony DeCurtis presented the Release of the Year to the Grateful Dead for Ladies and Gentlemen and The Grateful Dead. Later, he summed up the breadth and significance of the Meters’ career before George Porter Jr. took the stage to accept the Lifetime Achivement award on behalf of the band.
John Perry Barlow (co-founder of the EFF and long-time Grateful Dead lyricist with Bob Weir) introduced Tom Tom Club/Michael Franti and later handed the Live Release of the Year Jammy to Les Claypool who offered his own inimitable thanks to the crowd.

Paul Shaffer presented the Jam of The Year award to Phil Lesh and Friends with Mike Gordon and then read a letter of thanks from Lesh, who is on the west coast performing with the band.
The following is the complete list of winners.
New Groove of the year: Yonder Mountain String Band

Radio Show: ‘Jam Nation’ (Radio 104, Hartford, CT)

Fan Website:

Festival: Gathering of the Vibes

Topper/Zahn Award: Howie Schnee

Mimi Fishman Memorial Award: Mockingbird Foundation

Live Album: Les Claypool’s Frog Brigade: ‘Live Frogs, Set I’

Jam of the Year: Phil & Friends with Mike Gordon (12-31-00)

Release of the year: ‘Ladies and Gentlemen, The Grateful Dead’

Lifetime Achievement: George Porter Jr. and the Meters

Show 0 Comments