Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2003/03/28

Theres No Hope: Jen Durkin, Rob Volo to Reunite with Original Deep Banana Blackout Line-up at Gathering of the Vibes

Deep Banana Blackout will reunite on stage at this years Gathering of the Vibes. The bands line-up will feature founding members Jen Durkin and Rob Volo along with Fuzz, Benj Lefevre, Cyrus Madan, Rob Somerville, Johnny Durkin and Eric Kalb. I recently listened back to a live tape from a show in Burlington during our heyday in 1997 and it made me nostalgic about the music and the players, says Jen Durkin. Im excited to be back on stage with the band it couldnt come at a better time. Taking the stage right before James Brown is a very old dream come true and the VibeTribe is the perfect audience to share this pinnacle experience with!
The most recent incarnation of Deep Banana Blackout announced it would be going on hiatus following its holiday run in 2002. Vocalist/saxophonist Hope Clayburn, who joined the group following Durkins departure in the fall of 2000, and trombonist Bryan Smith will not perform at the Vibes.
The event will take place July 10 -13 at Indian Lookout Country Club in Mariaville, NY. Festival organizers have also announced the addition of The Holmes Brothers. The complete line-up is available at

Show 0 Comments