Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2006/03/14

The Cars, Utopia and Road Rage

After much rumor and speculation, Todd Rundgren has indeed signed on as lead singer and guitarist for the group featuring two founding members of The Cars. Rundgren, guitarist Elliot Easton and keyboard player Greg Hawkes will be joined by fellow former Utopia bass player Kasim Sulton and longtime Rundrgen collaborator (and Tubes alum) Prairie Prince on drums as The New Cars. Bassist Ben Orr passed away due to cancer in 2000 and neither David Robinson nor Ric Ocasek (who wrote 95% of the bands original material) will participate. The quintet will appear on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno this evening and will begin its Road Rage Tour on May 12 in Robinsonville, MS at the Grand Casino Tunica Event Center (and for what its worth, rather than the New Cars, your site editor would much rather see Rundgren return to the Old Utopia but so it goes)

Show 0 Comments