Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2009/08/06

California Dreamin’ with Phish

Phish played its first California show in just over six years last night at Mountain View, CAs Shoreline Amphitheatre. The band nodded to the lone California date at the end of its Red Rocks residency, by using Joni Mitchells California as its post-show music.

The groups first set opened with fan favorites Golgi Appartus, Halley’s Comet, Chalkdust Torture and Divided Sky, and also included a cover of Los Lobos When the Circus Comes, as well as the new Joy compositions Time Turns Elastic and Stealing Time From the Fault Plan. The Mike Gordon-sung showstopper Ya Mar, Suzy Greenburg and a set-closing David Bowie rounded out the rest of the groups first set.
After opening its second set with a bouncy Backwards Down the Number Line, the band stretched out with a lengthy run from Down With Disease into Limb By Limb. The evenings bust out was the first version of the Velvet Undergrounds Oh! Sweet Nuthin’ since Phish covered Loaded in its entirety on October 31, 1998. Immediately after, Phish nodded to another influence via a cover of Talking Heads Cities, which led into a seamless segue into Maze. A Mikes Groove featuring Simple closed out the bands set, though the Vermont Quartet returned for Anastasios solo tune Let Me Lie and Jimi Hendrixs Bold As Love. Phishs West Coast run will continue this Friday at George, WAs The Gorge.

Show 0 Comments