Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/03/09
by Meredith Berke

Bowlive’s Fat Tuesday with Scofield and Neville

Photo by Rob Chapman

Soulive celebrated Fat Tuesday last night as it opened the second week of its ten day residency at Brooklyn Bowl. The Nigel Hall Band kicked off the night, with Nigel Hall (keyboards), Adam Deitch (drums), Adam Smirnoff (guitar), Eric Krasno (guitar), Neal Evans (bass keys), and vocalists Alicia Chakour, Mel Flannery and Tania Jones. John Scofield, one of the evening’s previously-announced guests then stepped out and added guitar to “Leave Me Alone.”

The Soulive trio then took the stage and celebrated the occasion by throwing Mardi Gras beads into the audience before playing “Hat trick.” John Scofield joined on the third song, a steamy “Uncle Jr.” which offered an escalating guitar duel betwen Krasno and Scofield. Another highlight came later, via Scofield’s wailing solo that led into a set-closing “Hottentrot.”

Ivan Neville joined in the third set of the night, which also featured Scofield. A Mardi Gras celebration was in full effect by the second song, where Neville sang “Just Kissed My Baby” and “Will It Go Around in Circles.” Other favorites included “Iko Iko,” “Hey Hey Pocky Way” and “Fire On The Bayou.” Another entertaining moment occurred early on when Soulive drummer Alan Evans gave up his kit to Adam Deitch to pick up a guitar.

Tonight’s Bowlive features Marco Benevento, Ivan Neville, Oteil Burbridge, Kofi Burbridge and the just announced addition, John Scofield.

Show 1 Comments