Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2011/09/28

Great American Taxi: Paradise Lost

Great American Taxi will release their next studio, Paradise Lost, on October 11. For a few months the album will be available only through the band’s official homepage and other digital retail outlets, but a “brick and mortar release” is slated for February 22, 2012. The first hundred fans to pre-order the album will get a signed copy by the band and all CD pre-orders will get a free Paradise Lost digital download. In addition to Taxi’s core members, the album features appearances by Tim O’Brien, Barry Sless and Elizabeth Cook. Todd Snider—who recently toured and recorded with Taxi—also sings on the album and provides production duties.

“Taxi’s latest release has shed the jamming and gone for the throat with focused song writing and tight musical arrangements,” adds keyboardists/singer and album executive producer Chad Staehly. “The album combines ‘folky’ elements with straight ahead bluegrass that was propelled by Tim O’Brien playing fiddle, banjo and mandolin on several numbers mixed with equal parts rock ’n’ roll — think early-’70s country-rock Rolling Stones.”

The band also explains: “The release wraps up a trilogy, the band realized while working on Paradise. Their three albums loosely sketch out three periods in American history. People came to this country to carve out their Streets of Gold (GAT’s first release in 2007), got caught up in a bunch of Reckless Habits and have ended up with a sense of Paradise Lost.”

The group will perform next in St. Louis, MO on October 5.

Paradise Lost
1 Poor House
2 A.M. Radio
3 Blair Mountain
4 Angel Dust
5 Olden Days
6 Maud Only Knows
7 Penny Arcade
8 Silver Fiddle
9 Radiation Blues
10 Gonna Make A Record
11 Swamp Song
12 Easy Listening

Show 0 Comments