Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/01/04

Jay Farrar, Jim James and Friends Rework Woody Guthrie’s Lyrics

Jay Farrar, Jim James, Centro-matic’s Will Johnson and Varnaline’s Anders Parker will come together for a centennial tribute to folk pioneer Woody Guthrie. Set for release on February 28 via Rounder, the 12-song New Multitudes is billed as “an intimate interpretation of American icon and musical legend Woody Guthrie’s previously unrecorded lyrics.” A limited edition version of the album will also feature notebooks, scratch pads, napkins and other goodies.

“These guys worked on an amazing group of lyrics” Guthrie daughter Nora said in a statement. “Much of it was culled from Woody’s times in L.A. Lyric wise, it’s a part of the story that is still mostly unknown. From Woody’s experiences on LA’s skid row to his later years in Topanga Canyon, they are uniquely intimate, and relate two distinctly emotional periods in his life.” Several different artists have reworked Woody Guthrie’s lyrics over the years, most notably Wilco and Billy Bragg on Mermaid Avenue.

Here’s a look at New Multitudes’ track listing

1. Hoping Machine

2. Fly High

3. My Revolutionary Mind

4. VD City

5. Old L.A.

6. Talking Empty Bed Blues

7. Chorine

8. Careless Reckless Love

9. Angel’s Blues

10. No Fear

11. Changing World

12. New Multitudes

Show 1 Comments