Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/04/02

Patti Smith to Release New Album in June

Patti Smith will release her eleventh studio album, Banga, on June 5. This will be Smith’s first collection of original material since 2004. The seminal punk/poet recorded Banga at New York’s Electric Lady Studios with her band: Tony Shanahan, Jay Dee Daugherty and Lenny Kaye. Television guitarist Tom Verlaine, Fab Faux bassist Jack Petruzzelli, as well as Smith’s children Jackson and Jesse Paris also contributed to the recording sessions. Banga was inspired by “Smith’s unique dreams and observations.”

Appropriately enough, the first single off Banga “April Fool” was released early this morning. The song features Verlaine on guitar

Here’s a look at the album’s track listing

1. Amerigo

2. Fuji-san

3. April Fool

4. This is the Girl

5. Banga

6. Maria

7. Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)

8. Mosaic

9. Nine

10. Seneca

11. Constantine’s Dream

12. After the Gold Rush

Show 0 Comments