Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/06/06

Calexico Look to New Orleans on New Album

Four years since their last studio album, Calexico will release their Anti- Records debut Algiers on September 11. For the bulk of the recording sessions, core Calexico duo Joey Burns and John Convertino relocated to New Orleans with co-producer Craig Schumacher, living and working in a converted church in the outskirts neighborhood for which the record is named.

While seeping in New Orleans’ local sounds, Burns and Convertino wrote several of the album’s dozen new songs in the studio.

“The place is strong and bold, soulful to the core, but surrounded by a sea of darkness,” Burns said in a statement New Orleans. “There’s something creepy and old on the edge of town and written throughout the town’s histories. Those kinds of aesthetics help with the writing.”

Elsewhere on the album longtime Calexico member Jacob Valenzuela and Jairo Zavala of Depedro collaborated on “No Te Vayas” while the trumpet-embellished “Sinner In The Sea” reflects Burns’ desire “to map out a song that wed our west coast roots to our experience working in Havana with Amparo Sanchez a few years ago.”

Here’s a look at the album’s tracks

1. Epic
2. Splitter
3. Sinner in the Sea
4. Fortune Teller
5. Para
6. Algiers
7. Maybe on Monday
8. Puerto
9. Better and Better
10. No Te Vayas
11. Hush
12. Solstice of a Vanishing Mind

Show 0 Comments