Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/06/11

The Grateful Dead Movie Comes to DVD

On July 3, Shout! Factory will release The Grateful Dead Movie as a two-disc DVD set. The film, which was originally released in 1977 and co-directed by Jerry Garcia, captures five shows from the Winterland Ballroom in San Francisco in 1974, which, at the time, might have been the last shows of the Grateful Dead.

The first disc contains the film in its entirety; the second disc contains over 95 minutes of extra footage, like visible lyrics during the songs, feature-length commentary, photo gallery, production notes, and much more. The DVD has also been included in the 14-DVD box set, All the Years Combine: The DVD Collection , which was released earlier this year. The Grateful Dead Movie was also released as a Blu-ray in 2011.

The Grateful Dead Movie Chapter Indexes

1. Animation

2. U.S. Blues

3. One More Saturday Night

4. Bill Graham’s Crew Introduction

5. Goin’ Down The Road Feeling Bad

6. Soundcheck

7. Truckin’

8. Eyes Of The World

9. Ripped Off Fan

10. Sugar Magnolia

11. It’s Like A Continuous Trip

12. Intermission

13. Playing In The Band

14. Levy Gets In

15. Stella Blue

16. Casey Jones

17. The Om People

18. Weirdness From
He’s Gone

19. Morning Dew

20. Encore Break

21. Johnny B. Goode

22. It Must Have Been

The Roses/End Credits

Bonus Songs

Uncle John’s Band


The Other One »

Spanish Jam »

Mind Left Body Jam »

The Other One

Scarlet Begonias

China Cat Sunflower »

I Know You Rider

Dark Star

Weather Report Suite

Show 9 Comments