Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/10/31

Frank Zappa Compilation Album Released

The Zappa Family Trust released Understanding America on CD and iTunes yesterday. The two-CD set is one of only three compilation albums produced and titled by Frank Zappa himself. The collection contains a number of songs that have not yet been released, including a 25-minute work titled “Porn Wars Deluxe.” The Zappa Family Trust is headed by Frank Zappa’s widow, Gail Zappa. A full tracklisting for Understanding America can be viewed below.

A message from Zappa’s proximate Laurel Canyon studio, Utility Muffin Research Kitchen, proclaims: “This work is about ethics and honor. It’s about time and it is about money. And bogus pomp and circumstance. Predictions and politics. It is the low-down on high altitudes. Check out the menu for yourself and you will see that the main ingredients, each in their own persuasion and marinating well into the next century, have been carefully skewered and roasted to the peak of perfection by the Master chef, author of one of the all time great cook books, Understanding America. Oh, and finally, it is about Music. Put some in your cauldron and please, don’t forget to vote!”

Tracklisting for Understanding America

Disc 1:

1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
2. Plastic People
3. Mom & Dad
4. It Can’t Happen Here
5. Who Are The Brain Police?
6. Who Needs The Peace Corps?
7. Brown Shoes Don’t Make It
8. Concentration Moon
9. Trouble Every Day
10. You’re Probably Wondering Why I’m Here
11. We’re Turning Again
12. Road Ladies
13. What Kind Of Girl Do You Think We Are
14. Camarillo Brillo
15. Find Her Finer
16. Dinah-Moe Humm
17. Disco Boy
18. 200 Years Old

Disc 2:

1. I’m The Slime
2. Be In My Video
3. I Don’t Even Care
4. Can’t Afford No Shoes
5. Heavenly Bank Account
6. Cocaine Decisions
7. Dumb All Over
8. Promiscuous
9. Thing-Fish Intro
10. The Central Scrutinizer
11. Porn Wars Deluxe
12. Tinseltown Rebellion
13. Jesus Thinks You’re A Jerk

Show 10 Comments