Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/01/04

Long Lost Shuggie Otis Recordings To See The Light Of Day

Shuggie Otis’s seminal third solo album, 1974’s Inspiration Information, is set for reissue on Epic/Legacy. The often-sampled album will be packaged as a 2-CD set, including bonus tracks from 1971, as well as Wings Of Love, a previously unreleased collection of live and studio recordings from 1975-2000, the first set of new recordings from Otis since 1974. Otis is also adding additional dates to “The Shuggie Otis Rite Tour” running through April.

Here’s a look at the tracklisting for Inspiration


1. Inspiration Information
2. Island Letter
3. Sparkle City
4. Aht Uh Mi Hed
5. Happy House
6. Rainy Day
7. XL-30
8. Pling!
9. Not Available
Bonus tracks (previously unreleased):
10. Miss Pretty
11. Magic
12. Things We Like To Do
13. Castle Top Jam.


1. Intro
2. Special
3. Give Me Something Good
4. Tryin’ To Get Close To You
5. Walkin’ Down The Country
6. Doin’ What’s Right
7. Wings Of Love
8. Give Me A Chance
9. Don’t You Run Away
10. Fireball of Love
11. Fawn
12. If You’d Be Mine
13. Black Belt Sheriff
14. Destination You!

Here’s Otis’s currently confirmed tour dates:

1/10—New York, NY—Highline Ballroom
2/23—Mexico City, Mexico—El Plaza Condesa
3/23—Sydney, Australia—The Enmore
3/24—Melbourne, Australia—Hamer Hall
3/26—Brisbane, Australia—The Tivoli Theatre
3/28-29—Byron Bay, Australia—Bluesfest
3/31—Tokyo, Japan—Billboard Live Tokyo (early show)
3/31—Tokyo, Japan—Billboard Live Tokyo (late show)
4/1—Tokyo, Japan—Billboard Live Tokyo (early show)
4/1—Tokyo, Japan—Billboard Live Tokyo (late show)
4/14—Toronto, ON—Phoenix Concert Theatre
4/17—Chicago, IL—Lincoln Hall
4/18—New York, NY—BB King’s Blues Club and Grill
4/21—Washington, DC—The Howard Theatre
4/23-24—Seattle, WA—The Triple Door
4/26—San Francisco, CA—Mezzanine

Show 2 Comments