Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/07/30

Caffe Lena Box Set: Unreleased Tracks from Arlo Guthrie, Rick Danko, Dave Van Ronk and More

San Francisco’s Tompkins Square label will release Caffé Lena: Music From America’s Legendary Coffeehouse, 1967-2013 on September 24. The 3-CD box set features unreleased recordings of performances by Dave Van Ronk, Ramblin’ Jack Elliot, Kate McGarrigle, Rick Danko, Arlo Guthrie, Anais Mitchell, Sleepy John Estes, Sarah Lee Guthrie and more.

All of the performances on the box set were recorded at Saratoga Springs, NY’s Caffé Lena, the longest continuously operating folk coffeehouse in the US. The new set contains 47 previously unreleased tracks alongside previously unpublished photographs, with plenty of images from the archive of renowned folk-era photographer Joe Alper.

Caffé Lena: Music From America’s Legendary Coffeehouse, 1967-2013 tracklist:

*Disc 1* 

01 Intro by Lena Spencer / Guy Carawan “Cripple Creek” 1970 
02 Hedy West “Shady Grove“ 1968 
03 Intro by Lena Spencer / Sleepy John Estes “Holy Spirit“ 1974 
04 Frank Wakefield and Friends “Will The Circle Be Unbroken“ 1971 
05 Jean Ritchie “West Virginia Mine Disaster“ 1969 
06 Billy Faier “Hunt The Wren“ 1967 
07 Greenbriar Boys “Hit Parade of Love“ 1968 
08 Mike Seeger “O Death“ 1971 
09 Jacqui and Bridie “Hello Friend“ 1974 
10 Tom Paxton “Morning Again“ 1968 
11 David Amram “Little Mama“ 1974 
12 Patrick Sky “Reality Is Bad Enough“ 1971 
13 Rosalie Sorrels “Travelin’ Lady“ 1974 
14 Smoke Dawson “Devil’s Dream“ 1968 
15 Utah Phillips “The Green Rolling Hills of West Virginia“ 1974 
16 Michael Cooney “Thyme It Is A Precious Thing“ 1974 
17 Kate McGarrigle and Roma Baran “Caffè Lena“ 1972 

Disc 2

01 Intro by Lena Spencer / Dave Van Ronk “Gaslight Rag“ 1974 
02 Jerry Jeff Walker “Mr. Bojangles“ 1968 
03 Barbara Dane “Mama Yancey’s Advice / Love With a Feeling“ 1968 
04 Roy Book Binder “Ain’t Nobody Home But Me“ 1974 
05 Intro by Lena Spencer / David Bromberg “The Holdup“ 1972 
06 Ramblin’ Jack Elliott “Pretty Boy Floyd“ 1992 
07 Arlo Guthrie “City of New Orleans“ 2010 
08 Aztec Two Step “The Persecution and Restoration of Dean Moriarty“ 1989 
09 Happy And Artie Traum “Trials Of Jonathan“ 1974 
10 Rick Danko “It Makes No Difference“ 1988 
11 Paul Geremia “Something’s Gotta Be Arranged“ 1989 
12 Robin and Linda Williams “S-A-V-E-D“ 1987 
13 John Herald “Ramblin’ Jack Elliott“ 1991 
14 Pete Seeger “Somos El Barco (We Are the Boat)“ 1985
Disc 3
01 Sarah Lee Guthrie and Johnny Irion “Folksong“ 2013 
02 Anais Mitchell “Wedding Song” 2013 
03 Bill Morrissey “The Last Day Of The Furlough“ 1990 
04 Patty Larkin “Island Of Time“ 1992 
05 Greg Brown “Flat Stuff“ 1989
06 Mary Gauthier “I Drink“ 2013 
07 Sean Rowe “Old Black Dodge“ 2013 
08 Tom Chapin “Cats In The Cradle“ 1987 
09 Intro by Lena Spencer / Christine Lavin “It’s A Good Thing He Can’t Read My Mind“ 1987 
10 Bill Staines Sweet “Wyoming Home“ 1990 
11 Bucky and John Pizzarelli “I Like Jersey Best“ 1989 
12 Rory Block “That’s No Way To Get Along“ 1989 
13 Chris Smither “Killing The Blues“ 1989 
14 Tift Merritt “Traveling Alone“ 2013 
15 John Gorka “Down In The Milltown“ 1990 
16 Lena Spencer “Dear Little Cafe“ 1972 


There are no comments associated with this posts

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)