Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2014/02/04

Jim James, Sharon Jones, Ben Harper, Beck Contribute to Starbucks’ Valentine’s Day Compilation

Every few years or so, Starbucks releases a compilation of covers performed by indie artists to celebrate Valentine’s Day. The common core all of these tracks share is that they are all covers of well-known and generally popular love songs. The fifth installment in the series of Valentine’s Day comps is officially available today for $12.95 on iTunes and, as well as in Starbucks locations around the country.

This year’s Sweetheart compilation features—among others—Jim James taking on Bob Marley’s “Turn Your Lights Down Low,” Beck performing John Lennon’s “Love,” Phosphorescent playing Bob Dylan’s “Tomorrow is a Long Time,” and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings tackling the Stevie Wonder classic “Signed, Sealed, Delivered, I’m Yours.”

Sweetheart 2014 Track List:

1. Turn Your Lights Down Low – Jim James

2. Time to Say Goodbye (Con te partirò) – Vampire Weekend

3. Love – Beck

4. Tomorrow Is a Long Time – Phosphorescent

5. Don’t Forget Me – The Head and the Heart

6. Happy Or Lonesome – Valerie June

7. Always on My Mind – Bahamas

8. If You Were Mine – Thao & the Get Down Stay Down

9. Fade Into You – Ben Harper

10. I’m In The Middle Of A Riddle – Fiona Apple feat. Maude Maggart

11. The Chain – Brandi Carlile

12. I Hope – Blake Mills

13. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings

Show 2 Comments