Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2012/04/07

Glen Hansard to Release Solo Debut

Singer songwriter Glen Hansard will release his first solo album, Rhythm and Repose, on June 19 via Anti- Records. Best known for his work with The Frames and The Swell Season as well as the subject of the Academy Award winning feature film Once, the album is Hansard’s first set of new material since his 2009 release Strict Joy with The Swell Season. A video for the album’s first single, “Philander,” is available below.

The album was recorded by Patrick Dillett (David Byrne, Arto Lindsay, Laurie Anderson) and produced by Thomas Bartlett (Doveman, The National, Antony and the Johnsons) and features musical contributions from Brad Albetta (Martha Wainwright) on bass, Ray Rizzo on drums, Nico Muhly and Rob Moose on strings (Bon Iver, Y Music), David Mansfield on slide guitar (Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Tour), Javier Mas (Leonard Cohen touring band) and half of Bruce Springsteen’s current horn section. Assisting on vocals are Cristin Milioti (Once, The Musical), Sam Amidon, Marketa Irglova and Aida Shahghasemi (Marketa Irglova touring band).

As previously reported, Hansard will tour with Eddie Vedder this fall.

Here’s a look at the album’s track list

1. You Will Become
2. Maybe Not Tonight
3. Talking with The Wolves
4. High Hope
5. Bird of Sorrow
6. The Storm, It’s Coming
7. Love Don’t Leave Me Waiting
8. What Are We Gonna Do
9. Races
10. Philander
11. Song of Good Hope

Show 3 Comments