Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue

News

Published: 2012/04/23

Bobby Womack, Dawes, Alabama Shakes, Deer Tick, Diamond Rugs, Gary Clark Jr.,Roy Haynes and More to Perform at SummerStage 2012

The list of performances has been announced for this year’s annual SummerStage festival, set to run from June 6 – August 30 across eighteen parks throughout New York City’s five boroughs. Musical highlights this season include soul legend, Bobby Womack, Dawes, Kurt Vile and The Violators, Alabama Shakes, Deer Tick, Diamond Rugs Gary Clark Jr., jazz great Roy Haynes, and many more from a wide array of genres. All shows are free aside from the list of benefit concerts.

Standout events include the Blue Note Jazz Festival in Central Park on June 17 featuring Groove Theory, Soulive, Riq and Rah with Strings (Black Thought + Rahzel), and DJ ?uestlove; the CBGB festival on July 7 in Central Park; the Guthrie Family Reunion to celebrate Woody Guthrie’s 100th birthday on July 15 at Central Park; Jamaica’s 50th Anniversary of Independence Celebration on August 19 in Central Park; and the 20th Anniversary Charlie Parker Jazz Festival from August 24-26 in Marcus Garvey Park.

Please see below for a list of highlight SummerStage events.

Thurs, June 7
7:00 PM
Bobby Womack
Willis Earl Beal
Central Park, Manhattan

Mon, June 11 (Benefit Concert)
6:00 PM
Foster the People
with Tokyo Police Club and Kimbra
Central Park, Manhattan

Sat, June 16
7:00 PM
Dawes
Kurt Vile and The Violators
Central Park, Manhattan

Sun, June 17
6:00 PM
The Blue Note Jazz Festival featuring
Groove Theory
Soulive
Riq and Rah with Strings (Black Thought + Rahzel)
DJ ?uestlove
Central Park, Manhattan

Tues, June 19
7:00 PM
AraabMUZIK
Das Racist
Red Hook Park, Brooklyn

Thurs, June 21
7:00 PM
Deer Tick
Jonny Corndawg
Red Hook Park, Brooklyn

Sun, June 24
3:00 PM
Alabama Shakes
Diamond Rugs
Robert Ellis
Central Park, Manhattan

Tues, July 3 (Benefit Concert)
7:00 PM
Norah Jones
Central Park, Manhattan

Sat, July 7
3:00 PM
CBGB Festival – Artists TBA
Central Park, Manhattan

Sun, July 15
7:00 PM
A Guthrie Family Reunion: Celebrating Woody Guthrie’s 100 Birthday with
Arlo Guthrie
Abe Guthrie
Cathy Guthrie
Annie Guthrie
Sara Lee Guthrie and Johnny Irion
Central Park, Manhattan

Thurs, July 19
7:00 PM
WAR
Felix Hernandez’s Rhythm Revue
Queensbridge Park, Queens

Sat, July 21
3:00 PM
Bebel Gilberto
Criolo
Flávio Renegado
DJ Béco Dranoff
Central Park, Manhattan

Mon, July 23 (Benefit Concert)
6:00 PM
Beach House
Central Park, Manhattan

Sat, July 28
3:00 PM
Gary Clark Jr.
GIVERS
Central Park, Manhattan

Sat, Aug. 4
3:00 PM
Amadou & Mariam
Theophilus London
Central Park, Manhattan

Mon, Aug. 6 (Benefit Concert)
TBA
Old Crow Medicine Show
Central Park, Manhattan

Sat, Aug. 11
3:00 PM
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Buckwheat Zydeco
Abigail Washburn
Central Park, Manhattan

Sun, Aug. 19
3:00 PM
Jamaica’s 50th Anniversary of Independence Celebration featuring
Inner Circle
Israel Vibration
The Mighty Diamonds
DJ Carter Van Pelt
Central Park, Manhattan

Fri, Aug. 24
7:00 PM
20th Anniversary
Charlie Parker Jazz Festival with
Bird with Strings
with Miguel Atwood-Ferguson
and special guests
Produced by Revive Music
Marcus Garvey Park, Manhattan

Sat, Aug. 25
3:00 PM
20th Anniversary
Charlie Parker Jazz Festival with
Roy Haynes
Rene Marie’s ‘Experiment In Truth’
Derrick Hodge
ERIMAJ
Marcus Garvey Park, Manhattan

Sat, Aug. 26
3:00 PM
20th Anniversary
Charlie Parker Jazz Festival with
Gregory Porter
Andy Milne and Dapp Theory
Sullivan Fortner
Tompkins Square Park, Manhattan

Comments

There are 2 comments associated with this post

Chucky cheese string April 23, 2012, 13:07:23

Lame.

exterminator April 23, 2012, 15:27:16

Free music is Lame…. Go eat some more cheese you rodent. Soulive June 17th will be tight

Note: It may take a moment for your post to appear

(required) (required, not public)