Current Issue Details

Buy Current Issue


Published: 2013/01/24

The Flaming Lips Will Release The Terror In April

The Flaming Lips will release The Terror, their 13th studio album, on April 2 via Warner Bros. The album was produced by the band’s long-time collaborator Dave Fridmann and the band members themselves at Tarbox Road Studios. The album is comprised of nine original compositions that reflect a “darker-hued spectrum than previous works, along with a more inward-looking lyrical perspective than one might expect – but then again, maybe not. It’s up to you, the listener, to decide what it means to you.”

Frotnman Wayne Coyne explains, “Why would we make this music that is The Terror – this bleak, disturbing record? I don’t really want to know the answer that I think is coming. Maybe this is the beginning of the answer. If we have love, give love and know love. We are truly alive and if there is no love, there would be no life. The Terror, we know now, that even without love, life goes on…we just go on…There is no mercy killing.”

A digital pre-order for The Terror will begin on January 29 through the iTunes Store and other participating digital retailers. All pre-orders will include an instant gratification, non-album, bonus track titled, “Sun Blows Up Today.”

“Sun Blows Up Today” is also the music bed for a new TV commercial which also stars The Flaming Lips and will air during the Super Bowl on February 3. Additionally, The Lips have created a lyric video especially for this non-album bonus track.

The Lips will appear at Sao Paulo, Brazil’s Lollapalooza Brazil on March 29.

The Terror

Look…The Sun Is Rising
Be Free, A Way
Try To Explain
You Lust
The Terror
You Are Alone
Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die
Turning Violent
Always There…In Our Hearts
Sun Blows Up Today (digital album only)

Show 0 Comments